Advice for making USTs from scratch?

Meta

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
I looked through and didn't see a thread like this so... here goes.

I really want to try making USTs from scratch so I'm not at the mercy of what midis I can find (and what midis would actually work, on top of that.) I've never tried anything like this before, so I was looking for advice and how to go about it.

I don't know how to start or where to go from there. I know I need to figure out the tempo, but I don't even know how to do something like that. I have a tiny bit of musical training but haven't put it to use in the last 4 years so I'm a bit rusty, but I can at least read sheet music.

So yeah, if anyone would be kind to post their processes, and even steps on who they complete them, that would be really, really, awesome. And the more the merrier, since I'm sure people do things different ways. Thanks!

PKLpikachu

Teto's Territory
Defender of Defoko
I'm not sure if my method is that great, but here goes:

1. Download the off vocal of the song and the original.
2. Listen to the song to find its tempo
3. After you've found its tempo, listen to the song again one verse at a time and add notes into UTAU by ear.
4. render the UST and compare it to the original.
5. make any necessary changes to the UST. (i.e. changing note lengths or pitches)
6. repeat steps 3-5 until you're done.

I'd like to note that you add lyrics after you're completely done with all the steps. It helps with timing the UST if all the notes are "あ". I also like to use Defoko when making USTs, but that's personal preference.

Ant

Teto's Territory
Defender of Defoko
Now I'm wishing I recorded my last UST making. :\ I make the MIDI separate in FL Studio, though it could work with any DAW. Posted this in a thread the other day:

Oh snap, I just finished making a UST, I was thinking about screencapping it and doing a tutorial, but it's too late now. All that's left is pitchbends, which I suck at. OTL