Essential Tuning Skills

Arissa

Ritsu's Renegades
Defender of Defoko
Hello, everyone, been a while since my last discussion post. Since I'm still somewhat of a noob at tuning, I'd like to discuss it. I want to know

•What do u believe is essential to make an Utau sound good
•To make it sound human
What things do you use in the program, like how do you use utilize curves, plugins, flags, all your go-to's, resamplers, breaths, cross-fades, and for which types of banks? Like soft, strong, nasally, I want to know everything about what you use when tuning and why >=<

I use A la carte at times, but I'm no pro,, I also use cross-fades(mainly been working with CV) but am not a pro,,

Depending on what's up I reset a ust completely to give it a full retune, although I haven't lately...

Reactions: RenzoA

Kiyoteru

UtaForum power user
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
I'm rather lazy at expressive tuning, so this is more like pre-tuning advice:
  • Multipitch voicebanks are excellent
  • In CVVC banks, take full advantage of transitional notes
  • Mind phoneme choice, how words and sounds blend into each other
    • It's more important to have something sound natural and expressive than for there to be hyper-clear pronunciation! For example "would'ja" sounds better than "would you"
  • Pay attention to the quirks of the specific voicebank (even adjusting oto if necessary)
  • Make sure everything has a pitchbend, and maybe put a weak vibrato on all notes longer than a quarter. My settings:upload_2017-6-11_19-57-3.png (You could even add more control points in the Portamento section to make it easier to tune, so that you don't have to create new points all the time)