(HARDWARE ISSUES) microphone isn't recording??

Avalia-Kasa

probably a potato tbh
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
so hi techy people i'm a music tech major and yet i know next to nothing about hardware so please kill me

i got a scarlett 2i2 audio interface w/ a rode nt1 (not nt1a just if u wondered) because my last nt1 broke. i wasn't the smartest with phantom power but i've learned. i know the signal works to the interface because my interface lets me listen as i record or have the mic plugged in, but it won't seem to get to my computer. whenever i attempt to record, none of my DAWs pick up my microphone or even seem to recognize it. i know i have the correct input selected (scarlett line in) so idk what gives. it's like the signal just stops at the interface and doesn't go to the computer?? i haven't had problems like this on my old one, which is the same mic???

if anyone can help pls do i'm headache over this rip me

P

partial

For those of us unfamiliar with that interface, is it possible to post screenshots for reference?

Rei-Chan

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
I truly wish I could help on the matter, nut alas, I am not familiar with this. However, it sounds like the issue seems to revolve around the program itself. Mayne it could be something as simple as trying to reopen the software before dealing with the microphone, to reinstalling the program altogether. I'd maybe even play with the inputs because you never know! I'm sorry I am not much help on the matter, and I hope you find a solution soon!

Chianachini

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
In addition to making sure both your OS and your programs are connected to the right input, I would also check your drivers, including any that would have come with your hardware.

Avalia-Kasa

probably a potato tbh
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
For all that don't know much about audio interfaces, they're actually an external thing from your computer that lets you plug in XLR mics (which typically are more HQ).