Hello I'm new to this whole thing and I'm looking for advice

EnjouAkuma

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
Hello, for the past 4 days I have been trying to learn the basics of music theory and how to use Utau, and I made this little thing to test some things out
If you have any advice, critique, or know of any resources that will help someone who is starting out I'm happy to hear it
Hello, nice to meet you^^ I don't think I would be able to help with music theory since I don't know anything about it and don't know if I will, but I've been using UTAU for 2 years and know basically everything 'bout it! If you're having troubles, don't hesitate to DM me on discord or here or you can ask any body here!

My discord: Pyro-P#1649

RoseMB

Momo's Minion
Hello!
I'd say that that's pretty good for a test and just 4 day of work! I am unaware of any musical experience that you may have, but hearing this, I would assume you have at least a little. My biggest piece of advice would be to master the basics. When learning anything new, It's important that you become familiar with even the most basic of concepts. This applies to music as well. I'll be starting at the beginning to create a simple guide on how one would start.

When learning basic musical skills, personally, I'd say to go in the following order:

1. Pitch. This includes,
A. The names of the notes (a, b, c, d, e, f, g)
B. Being able to identify these pitches when written on a staff (at least Treble and Bass)
C. Octave numbers (EX. C3, C4, C5)
D. Accidentals (at least sharps, flats, and naturals)

2. Scales and Keys. This includes,
A. Being able to both identify and build scales using each's respective formulas (at least Major, Natural Minor, Harmonic Minor, and Melodic Minor)
B. Using the order of sharps/flats to more quickly identify the sharps/flats in a key
C. Scale degrees and intervals

3. Rhythms. This includes,
A. Note values (from at least Whole to 16th)
B. Rests (from at least Whole to 16th)
C. Dotted notes