Question on VCV: Constant Velocity?

jellophish

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
Can someone explain to me better about Constant Velocity in VCV? I'm still a little new to VCV unfortunately...

Usually I put 200 for Constant Velocity. Though that's after I heard that most VCV UTAUs are recorded at that velocity so I went with it.

I came across a UST where if I put the Constant Velocity to 200, it sounded a bit choppier, but if I put it at 100, it sounded lot smoother. I had been using my UTAU's VCV bank which is still a work in progress.

How can I tell what number to put there, other than just 200?

Here's some examples of the difference I found. I dunno if it's just the sorta...VCV slurring though. :cynical: (The oto's still not done so some of the samples are missing)

This one is at 100 Constant Velocity

https://soundcloud.com/jellophish/100-constant-velocity

This one is at 200 Constant Velocity

https://soundcloud.com/jellophish/200-constant-velocity

Kiyoteru

UtaForum power user
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
Consonant velocity is actually a value that alters the length of the consonant, or pink area of the OTO. By default it is set to 100, but higher values shorten the consonant and lower values lengthen the consonant. Because of the nature of VCV, I would recommend not using it at all. But the difference consonant velocity makes can certainly be significant in CV and CVVC.

If you want to have faster VCV transitions in your own voice banks, my recommendation is to simply record at a faster tempo.

shinami

Procrastination Queen
Tutor
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
I would never recommend convel (consonant velocity) of 200 unless it's like Disappearance of Hatsune Miku. I don't understand why it's so popular as, in my opinon, it makes banks that could have sounded natural instead sound choppy and unrealistic.