VCV OTO help

Rakuei

Ruko's Ruffians
Supporter
Defender of Defoko
Hey guys, so I'm relatively new to UTAU and Vocaloid, specifically to various usage and semantics needed to properly use the program.

Regardless, I've started recording samples for my first VCV VB in Utau and have NO idea how to OTO it. Despite hours of research and tutorial reading online, nothing makes much sense to me. So let me show you my problem.

First off:

here is my list of current samples that I've already recorded. The oto I am using for reference, sample-wise is Ritsu's Kire VB. Notice I have no presets in any of my samples. I have no idea what any of those settings mean, so is there a preset number I should be using for most of them?

AlSVBJ0.png

AlSVBJ0.png

Second:

This is where I'm having the most trouble. I have four lines, and I have NO idea where to put them. I know the red line is supposed to go where the consonant starts, but where is the consonant in the "a" sample in an "aeauea" sample? I know I sound ridiculous.

F7yqQC0.png

See that big gaping spot? I can't tell where my a starts and ends from my "i" sample.

Someone please explain where I need to put these lines! Lol

P

partial

For preutterance and overlap I recommend using uniform values. Common numbers used for those are 300 for preutterance and 60 or 100 for overlap.

For recordings with aliases that start with - (like - か) it's totally fine if the preutterance and overlap values aren't uniform provided you only use it after a rest. Your parameters look fine in that first screenshot.

For something like "a あ" it's a bit trickier to tell, but you basically have to drag the blue line around to find that second "a" sound, if that makes sense.

I know the red line is supposed to go where the consonant starts, but where is the consonant in the "a" sample in an "aeauea" sample?
This depends. Do you mean - あ or a あ?
For - あ, the red line just goes as the start of the a sound.