All utaus I use sound bad even when I fit the ust correctly

Crikey77

Momo's Minion
I'm very new to UTAU and I have little to no knowledge but, I know how to use a ust...or so I thought. I fit the ust the way most guides say to, but the utau's singing still sounds gross and janky. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, but could someone who knows a little more about this whole thing tell me how they usually do it?(if that makes any sense) I thought it would sound good because I usually use the more well-know uatus since I thought they'd sound good 50% of the time but, they sound good 0% of the time. I was tired when I came up with that logic, the quality doesn't always have to depend on the vb it's the way it's used, I guess.

Cyberbison

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
Usually there are some pre-set settings in the UST (Preutterance and Overlap in Note properties for example, which determine how much the note is "early" and how much the previous note should stay on over the new one). Also, what helps with faster songs, is to add 100 or 200 to consonant velocity. This speeds up the time the voicebank forms the consonant part of the sample.
So maybe try highlighting the whole song (CTRL+A on PC), right click and choose "note properties", and clear (don't click reset - that doesnt always bring the values to 0 but instead to the numbers they were set to when you downloaded the song!) the Preutterance and overlap -boxes, and try adding 50, 100, 150 or 200 to consonant velocity, this usually helps me.

Reactions: Halo

Crikey77

Momo's Minion
Usually there are some pre-set settings in the UST (Preutterance and Overlap in Note properties for example, which determine how much the note is "early" and how much the previous note should stay on over the new one). Also, what helps with faster songs, is to add 100 or 200 to consonant velocity. This speeds up the time the voicebank forms the consonant part of the sample.